Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Write the Scenes You Don’t Think Belong in Your Book

Leave a comment

A Writer's Path

books scenes

by Meg Dowell

Last week, I wrote a scene that both surprised and amazed me. NOT because I’m the best writer ever or because it’s the greatest piece of prose a human has ever written (nope and, uh, NOPE), but because I never planned on writing it at all.

In fact, the moment the idea wedged its way into my head, I immediately tried to reject it.

View original post 543 more words

Leave a Reply

