Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

The Charmed Life of a Writer – Day 2

Leave a comment

Hub of Harper

The acrid, cozy musk of yesterday’s fire still lingers in the air, wafting from the charred, white-brick fireplace. Even thicker than the smoky scent in the air is nostalgia. The kind that comes with evergreen trees and twinkly lights and glitter-frosted fluffy scarves and the slant of the winter sun cutting through cold windowpanes.

We’ve decorated the hearth with two miniature trees, the branches enchanted with pin-prick white lights; the mantle drips with glistening, snowy Poinsettias.

A make-shift desk has been propped in front of the fireplace, because I couldn’t stand not to make this my newest writing haunt.

christmas-2016

The slant of the sun glances off the laptop screen, making me squint to make out what I’m typing. But I’m piled with at least two books that I take turns reading intermittently, and at least three notebooks that I pause to scrawl notes in. (Shame on me for ending on…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

