Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

NaNoWriMo Butt Kick

Leave a comment

There’s nothing like NaNoWriMo, a time when authors far and wide put their noses to the grind stone to crank out 50k words in one month, to kick my butt into gear where writing at least the last 10k of an 80% finished book is concerned. So, yes, I’m using NaNoWriMo and everyone else’s unbridled fervor as the thing that finally leaves me with no excuse not to get this dumb baby done!

That’s right – Wonderland may have missed its summer release, but it’s not as if I didn’t get close, and as of today we’re up to 88% finished. I already know Thanksgiving is going to try to throw a cork in my writing goals over the next couple weeks, but I’m on a pretty good roll right now. The end is so close in sight, maybe I’ll just…get there before Thanksgiving even comes a-gobbling, and flit around the kitchen making pies at my leisure with the smirk of an author who has finished her book.

Leave a Reply

