Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Wonderland Progress and Plot Splicing

Leave a comment

Wonderland is cruising right along, right about at the 3/4 completion milestone. I just got back from an almost two-hour writing spree at the park, which was just what I needed to clear my head from the work week and get back in the writing groove. Only a few chapters to go, now. And I’m finally feeling like this MC has the depth I’ve been aiming for. Only took a book and a half to get her to this point. Better late than never, right?

My secondary thought of the day has to do with the always multiplying plot-bunnies in my head I can never seem to keep a handle on. I’ve been haunted by the thought lately that I probably already have more must-write book ideas than I’ll ever be able to actually fulfill in my lifetime, not to mention all the storylines that are bound to inspire themselves in the future. This is a very depressing thought. Part of the solution is just to set my life up so I have more writing time, but even then there are too many to ever complete. It’s occurred to me that a more viable solution is to try to combine some of the plots currently pending on my to-write list. I am both really excited and a little skeptical of this idea, as I’ve envisioned some of these storylines strictly in their purest form for so long, but I think combining some of these awesome ideas can only equal more awesome books in the end.

So there you have it, today’s writing tidbits! Time to go type up my progress on Wonderland, and dream of the moment I can finally start promoting the crud out of Paradise because its sequel is finally out. IT’S ALMOST TIME.

Leave a Reply

