Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

There will be no Summer Bummers Here

Leave a comment

Back at it again with another chapter! Let’s just say it was a good thing I aimed to give myself plenty of time with Wonderland, and said it would have a summer 2016 release, because whew, has life continued to foil my greatest efforts to write.  Before this week I hadn’t written a stitch in months (yet again) and I’ve been falling deeper and deeper into despair that somehow the whole summer will pass and not only will I have not released Wonderland as promised, but I won’t have made any progress either. None. Zero. Zilch. Natta.

Last time my excuse was my sister getting married. This time, it was planning my own wedding. Probably an even better excuse, but at what point is my life going to open up like a flower blooming in spring for me to just write, and write, and write, unhindered by storms and the sweltering heat of life’s pressures?

Don’t tell me the answer is never. I refuse to believe it.

In the meantime, I happen to still be on track with the generous deadline I gave myself for my current project’s release. I only have 5 chapters to go, and a couple of them are going to be pretty darn short.

I took vacation for my wedding, and made sure to give myself extra time so I’d have a few days to do nothing but write before going back to work. I have about three days left, and hope to do at least a chapter a day.

Once the book is done, I’m somewhat confident editing will be something I can balance easily enough with work. Let’s hope that’s true! There will be no summer bummers here, folks. Wonderland will make its own party, if it kills me!

Leave a Reply

