Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Deadly Lush Update

Leave a comment

Okay. Here’s the beginning-of-the-year update. I’ve been stuck on Wonderland for quite some time. Partly because I didn’t like how the current scene was fitting into the timeline (but it’s a crucial scene and there’s nowhere else to put it), and partly because I got some amazing new ideas that completely contradict with already-existing amazing ideas. I didn’t know what to do. No solutions seemed keen on presenting themselves. Month after month after month.

Until the idea of a third book trickled in. I resisted, because I’m really trying to not go off on whole long series all the time. If I do, I get far too side-tracked from all of the other stand-alone book ideas piling up on my to-write shelf. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized how perfectly a third book solves all of the problems I’m having with the second book’s plot and pacing. It just won’t be denied, and so – yes, there is going to be a third book after Wonderland. I can’t say I’m that upset, really, because from the beginning I thought it would be perfect to have a Paradise, Wonderland, and Eden, but I had no ideas or desire for a third book. But it seems it was meant to be, so now Eden will see the light of day! I’m definitely not upset that I have to come up with another gorgeous cover to match the first two. They were so much fun, and I still can’t get enough of looking at them.

So that’s where I’m at right now. The Deadly Lush books are going to be a trilogy. As soon as I let the third book into the picture, ideas for finishing the second book came pouring in. I have everything outlined and I’m excited about the whole thing again, so here’s hoping I can spew out a ton of words over the next month! I just custom-designed some notebooks and 3-ring binders from Zazzle to reflect the atmosphere of the series, and I’m eagerly awaiting their arrival in the mail so I can fill them up with the rest of the story!

I also custom-designed a new coffee mug, so I’m all set to get back to being a serious writer. Here’s hoping 2016 is more fruitful than 2015. I can do this!

Oh, AND I think I’m going to get Paradise re-edited while I finish Wonderland.

Leave a Reply

