Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver

Leave a comment

I want to start featuring more books and authors who deserve promotion here on my blog, so today I’m going to start with a feature of a trilogy that I’ve been reading, that I also happen to be really enjoying. I picked up Delirium by Lauren Oliver awhile back as a branching-out venture, not at all certain what I would find between the pages. I was pleasantly surprised for a few reasons, which I’ll list below, but firstly here are the books linked to their Amazon.com sales pages:

Delirium Pandemonium Requiem

I think the covers are quite nice, which never hurts my interest, but I was pleasantly surprised by the story and writing style of the author as well. I’m a pretty big fan of dystopia, and I thought this story presented a very interesting take on a dystopian society. I happen to love a little romance with my adventure, too, so I was very drawn in by the main theme of this dystopian society focusing around ‘love’, and love being a disease that everyone needs to be cured from, and the main character being a rebel and going for that whole forbidden love thing, etc. Just a very interesting mix of genres, to me.

As an author, I found I really appreciated the story because I myself identify with the author’s writing style. I see a lot of myself in her – the lyrical prose, the love of commas and adjectives and metaphors… Some people get really overwhelmed by this type of thing, and feel that it gets too ‘prosy’. But what I love about this author is her deft ability to balance prose with simplicity. While my own prose has been heavily praised by some, I’ve also received feedback to the tune of ‘sometimes a sigh is just a sigh, and that’s all it needs to be’. I love the way Lauren Oliver seems to be able to get carried away with the right sentences, but leave some alone. She knows when a sigh needs to just be a sigh, and when it needs to be a gusty, windswept current forged in the soul-deep recesses of despair.

There were a couple things I didn’t love love about the first book, and to be honest it took me awhile to purchase the other two books in the trilogy, although I always planned on it. But especially now that I’ve gotten into the second book and really recognized the reason her writing speaks to me, I’m falling in love with these books outright.

I can’t wait to see what happens throughout this second installment, and then in the final book of the trilogy!

Leave a Reply

