Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Black-Out Poetry

Leave a comment

 

I saw this cool concept for creating poetry on Pinterest. I really want to take some time to actually make something good sometime, but in the meantime here’s something I pulled off a page from my YA fantasy Ace:

Filthy one

I flew a slight innocence

You didn’t trust

You twist things.

I snatched your boundaries

Anything was foreign

Stop calling me names.

So, nothing epic by any means, but still kind of neat to string words together! Clearly I’ve grouped them into an arrangement of sentences here, so it’s not quite as neat as blacking out the rest of the page so you can see where each word is isolated, but still. I didn’t want to go blacking out the pages of my own books, so I have no picture to go with it.

Give it a try! See what you come up with!

Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

