Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

When 5-Star Reviews Don’t Make Your Day

Leave a comment

Well, I’ve fallen off the face of the earth for awhile again. It’s taken some new 5-star reviews to draw me out of the woodwork. From that, you might guess that this would be an excited and positive post – and it was going to be, until I noticed that these new 5-star reviews didn’t actually bump up my star average, so in the end – I’m completely frustrated!

The novella of Breathtaker had a couple 5-star reviews, and a couple negative reviews that caused it to hover at a 3.5 star average for a long time. Then I revamped it and hoped for some new reviews to come in and change the average, hopefully in a positive direction in light of the new changes. Well it got its first new review, and I’m happy to say it was a 5-star, but the average hasn’t changed, so what good does it do me? Gah! I’m hoping it just hasn’t fully processed yet, but the last review I received for Bounty (also a 5-star), failed likewise to affect the average stars, and that was a good while ago, and I never did see a change.

I’m not sure what the deal is, but I’m having one of those pitiful spans where I feel like the universe is against my success. You feel that way usually when you receive your first 1-star review, and maybe when you receive a couple 2- or 3-star reviews, and you wonder if you’ll just never actually be able to be any better than that, no matter how hard you try. But in a way it’s so much worse to actually be receiving positive praise, and yet have it make no difference. I can’t win!

Alright, rant over. I’m super glad people are enjoying what they’re reading these days. At least, if I myself know I’m improving as a writer, maybe my next book will never get stuck with a 3.5 star average to begin with. But knowing my luck, it will receive only 5-star reviews and still display a 3.5 star average.

Begin hysterical laughter to retain sanity.

Leave a Reply

