Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

The Beast that Tweets

4 Comments

Who knew something that tweets could be such a beast.

I have been trying, really trying, lately, to get the hang of the beast that is Twitter. Supposedly, Twitter is something that I ‘should’ become proficient with (with? in?), as an indie author. And everyone else seems to pick it up just fine, so I should be able to as well.

Not really the case. I don’t know if it’s that I don’t ‘get’ it, or that it just isn’t my thing, or… I don’t know. I suppose I can see how, once you got the hang of it, there are aspects that could be enjoyable. I guess it’s kind of nice to be able to share your thoughts as they come to you, feel as though ALL OF THEM are valuable, and imagine that 12,000 people care. (Not that I have that many followers yet. Right now, I think I have 35.) And, truly, I doubt most of them care. But it’s nice to imagine that they do.

Personally, I find it a little overwhelming feeling obligated to care about 12,000 people’s random, trivial thoughts. And I don’t mean that I’m a jerk and don’t care about people’s thoughts, it’s just…overwhelming.

I know, I know, the point isn’t to try to keep up with everything that everyone says on Twitter. And I’m not following 12,000 people yet. I’m following about 70. But I get hesitant to follow more, because just the idea of having 12,000 (or hopefully more, I guess) to keep up with sounds exhausting. For a reserved introvert like myself, it just sounds like a terrifying crowd.

Then there are the private messages. I didn’t even know those really existed, at first, until all at once I saw that I had unread messages in my inbox. All these people that I had followed, saying they look forward to ‘chatting’. I DIDN’T KNOW I WAS SIGNING UP TO CHAT WITH YOU ALL.  THAT’S EVEN WORSE THAN CARING ABOUT YOU ALL. Then I go and see that half of them haven’t even followed me back, so why do they want to chat with me, and how are we going to do that, and wouldn’t that just be awkward since they have no interest in following me?

The other thing is that I’m always torn between cramming my post full of hashtags, and not knowing what the heck to use as the best hashtags and opting to just forego them completely, lest I look like an idiot or just waste space that I could use to lengthen the content and quality of the post itself.

It’s a beast, I tell you. A giant, tweeting beast.

4 thoughts on “The Beast that Tweets

  1. Oh, gosh, I SO agree with this. Most annoying thing–they follow you and then unfollow you when you don’t automatically follow them back because they have several thousands tweets an hour about some competition you know nothing about. Like, really? You think I’m obligated to let you spam me?

    • I know! I got so excited in the beginning (who am I kidding, I’m still in the beginning) when I picked up a few followers, only to log on the next day and see I’d lost them just as fast. Clearly this new world moves just a little bit faster than I do!

  2. It really is. A time consuming and sometimes mind-numbing beast…but having said that, it’s still worth figuring out 🙂 It took me a while to get the hang of things, but since I have, I’ve seen a lot of positives as well…the only thing I haven’t been able to get around is the amount of time it takes to keep up your account…unless you use automated services to do it for you, and I prefer not to.

    • Yeah, I definitely can’t see myself getting into the automated stuff. But I’ll keep trying to get a feel for it until and unless I absolutely can’t. I think I’m getting better… Then again, yesterday I realized I hadn’t tweeted at all, so I got on to tweet one little tweet before bed. Like that’s going to do any good 😀

Leave a Reply

