Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

A Sudden Demand for Sequels

Leave a comment

I had this nice plan to get a couple sequels written this summer – the only question was which series to choose. I have a few that desperately need to be finished now that they’re started. Fortunately, I’ve had a couple fans stop by my blog and facebook page to inquire after certain sequels, so I thought – perfect! I’ll write these, since they’re ‘in demand’.

UNfortunately, I then proceeded to receive more visits by more fans inquiring about OTHER sequels. And since then, I’ve had inquiries about sequels to pretty much every book that needs one right now.  AAAAHHH! This is fantastic, of course, because it means people want to keep reading my work after they start! However, it kind of leaves me scrambling, wanting to get them all wrapped up at once. I mean, what if I choose one over another to work on first (and books tend to take awhile to write), and the fans waiting on the others lose patience and lose interest?

I don’t want to lose any fans!

For the future, of course, this teaches me to only work on one series at a time. Which seems like logic I might have observed from the beginning, but I honestly just didn’t expect there would be much of a demand.

So I’m just going to work as hard as I can this summer, and focus only on sequels (sorry other exciting ideas that keep coming to me – you’ll just have to wait your turn).

However, on top of all that, I’ve suddenly landed a full-time book-cover-design job, which I love, so now I have way less time to write than I did before. And on top of THAT, I’m in the middle of moving and training for a 5k mud run.

I think I’m officially crazy. And if I’m not, at this rate I will be very soon. (So all of my readers should be warned – the sequels that I write this summer may end up being pretty wacky!)

Leave a Reply

