Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

The Regurgitated Edition

Leave a comment

An interesting notion has been churning about in my mind, pertaining to one of my books (one of the already-published ones).  What does one do when they’ve re-written a book countless times, still don’t like it but have decided to finally just let it be, only to be smacked in the face with a complete new vision for it after letting it be published for a year or so, and having its sequel already published and everything nice and wrapped-up to boot? I feel as though I have finally been hit with the vision I needed for it during the whole writing process, but it’s not only already an established book, but an established SET of books, with reviews and the whole lot.

And we’re not just talking about making a refurbished ‘2nd Edition’ type thing. We’re talking completely revamping the whole setting and tone of the book. How would one even do that, when the book is already known as it is? (This is why you should never publish a book until you’re absolutely certain you like it, but this happens to be one I was certain I would never actually like, but it was a finished project, so I decided to go ahead and let it run its course.)

Sigh. I feel like what I want to do with it is too drastic to go over as any kind of alternate ‘edition’, but do any other authors ever take down established work to throw an innate cork in the entire premise, and throw a new fish entirely back into the sea in the old one’s place? That just seems weird.  And then there’s the fact that it already has reviews, and they would no longer accurately reflect the content.

So it would HAVE to be some alternate edition, but what do you even call a completely regurgitated edition? The…’Regurgitated Edition’?

The whole hassle (and my track record with re-doing this book) makes me feel as though I should continue to just let it be. But the reviews tend to reflect my own feelings toward the book, and THE VISION! AHH! It’s too much the saving grace I’d been missing, and it’s so obvious now.

What to do, what to do.

WHAT TO DO.

Leave a Reply

