Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Pinterest for Authors

1 Comment

I just have to take a moment to say – OMG, I’ve just discovered the total awesomeness of employing Pinterest as an author!  I had already been having fun with Pinterest with a regular ol’ account, like many people, just pinning random appealing things, but I kept running into things that served as great story inspiration, and trying to keep all that stashed in the midst of all the other non-story stuff was quickly becoming stifling and cluttered.  It didn’t take long before my ‘Book Inspiration’ board was bursting with random goodness of its own that really needed to be divided up into sub-categories.  But I didn’t want to bug all of my regular followers with a BUNCH of ‘book’ boards, or even just the escalating amount of mere book-related pins, so after despairing for awhile and not changing a thing, I realized I could create a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT PINTEREST ACCOUNT FOR MY AUTHOR SELF.  Duh.

And, let me tell you, I haven’t had so much fun in a long time.  If any of you are like me, you’ve long either surfed the web for inspiration or happened across it by chance and had the thought ‘DRAT, this is perfect; it’s like they made it JUST FOR MY BOOK, AND I MUST HAVE IT – NOW NOW NOW NOW NOW!’ – but of course, you can’t have it at all.  That glorious piece of mind-reading inspiration isn’t yours to attach to your work.  I’ve run into so many things that could have been stellar representations of my stories or aspects therein, and it’s painful to move on and accept that it will never be yours to employ for your own purposes.  AHH, the injustice!  Such a taunt!

After years of doing just that (dragging myself onward), I am so incredibly excited (way too excited, in all honesty) about the prospects Pinterest provides to change that.  For anyone who doesn’t know, Pinterest is basically a cool little (big) place where you create different ‘boards’ (categories/files) and stick relevant ‘pins’ on (in) them.  Pins are images of different things.  Pretty much anything you can imagine.  You can pin virtually any image from any site onto one of your ‘boards’.  This is allowed because it preserves the source information and all that, so it’s pretty much equivalent to posting a link (more or less), except it’s in image form.  Yatta yatta yatta, bla bla bla.  You get the picture.

Which means that, as I screamed at my sister, “Oh my gosh, I CAN steal everybody else’s epic coolness and use it for my own glory! JUST LIKE I’VE ALWAYS WANTED!’.  As good as if you had mad skills in every medium and plenty of spare time and resources to dream up sketches and movie-stills and character portraits and all kinds of cool extras for your stories yourself, you can put all these things by other people into boards dedicated to your books, and no one’s the wiser (at least, nobody cares that they weren’t originally designed specifically for your book), and it’s all perfectly allowed and WAY TOO MUCH FUN.  As a fan, I would totally love to peruse an author’s collection of inspiration for a given book, to see how she imagines the characters and really get a feel for the atmosphere and all that – and as an author, it just really helps with inspiration.  There is something so cool about forming a collection of images that captures your ideas and brings them together, giving you this broad, vivid vision of everything you imagined, made real and whole before you.

And I’m sure I’m not the only one who has ever been compelled to have a character look just like a certain actor/singer/etc who happens to be awesome, but there’s just no hope of ever really making noise about that because you can’t just splice George Clooney onto the cover of your book and call it a catered day.  (At least, I don’t recommend it.)  So this is a cool way to just kind of pull a picture of that given person onto the scene as a source of inspiration, and display them next to all that other cool stuff that makes your book what it is.

You probably get the picture well enough that I can temper the tirade and let everyone discover the extent of the fun for themselves (if you haven’t already; I may be the one that’s just a little slow to jump on the end of the bandwagon, and you’re all shaking your heads at me now, saying ‘I could have told you all that’.  Regardless; I highly recommend Pinterest for authors both as a source of inspiration and a potential avenue of promotion, and, of course, as a totally awesome and appealing thing to share with the fans you already have.

So – go do it! I can pretty much guarantee that once you start, it will be addicting.  On that note, if you’ll excuse me – I’m off to return to my new hobby of shamelessly stealing the glory of about a million other people.

(Follow my author-ness on Pinterest! – Harper on Pinterest )

One thought on “Pinterest for Authors

  1. I just wrote an article for WOW! Women On Writing on this with some addtional tips. You can find it at my blog: http://www.charleneoldham.com

Leave a Reply

