Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

The Novella that was Almost a Novel

3 Comments

It is finished!  And with 361 words to spare!  By which I mean, I managed to make my story shut the heck up 361 words shy of the maximum word-count for a novella (at least according to the source I looked up), and seeing as this was a strict novella project, and my first, I was not willing to accept failure.

Unfortunately, the editing process will probably add those 361 words, at which point I will no longer be able to scream in triumph.  In fact, I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do.  This WILL BE a novella, dag nabbit.

What is one to do?

What is one to do…

I don’t know, but I’m totally excited about this book.  Reading back over it, I actually really like it.  THAT HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF MY MODERN WORK BEFORE.  This is great!  If nothing else, I am absolutely thrilled with it just for that, so perhaps I will let it slide that it decided it wanted to come in a few words over the maximum word count.

In any case, it’s finished, and an enthusiastic 10,000 words above the goal I originally set for it.  Sigh.  Who else can relate to their stories (and characters) tending to have minds of their own?

3 thoughts on “The Novella that was Almost a Novel

  1. What is the woed coynt for a novella?

  2. My characters and stories pretty much all have minds of their own. Characters have taken me in directions that I certainly had never planned, and so far they’ve all worked out pretty well. It’s fun to see what kind of surprises characters can throw at us, and to see how we handle them.

    Congrats, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

