Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Finished and Counting…

Leave a comment

I surpassed 30,000 words today for my proposed 30,000 novella Breathtaker.

It’s still going strong.

It’s a little late now, but I’m realizing I might benefit from seeking some advice on pacing a shorter piece of work, and how one should go about making sure the necessary development is present without dragging out the length of the story.  If anyone here has experience writing novellas, I would love to hear what you do to give your characters and plot their due development in a more cloistered setting.

So, while I have met my quota for the month, I do not yet have a product ready to release, and can only hope I manage to even finish writing the thing within the month, as it has yet to announce its own finish line.  I’m really hoping my shortest-proposed work yet does not prove to be the project that dashes my perfect record of writing a book-a-month through the heart.

I did get the blurb written, though, which usually isn’t something that happens until the book is finished, so that’s something.  I’ll be releasing that here sometime in the near future.

Leave a Reply

