Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Novella Success

Leave a comment

So I’ve reached 18,000 words for my novella project this month, which means I have an official novella on my hands!  I looked up the official wordcount for something to be considered a ‘novella’, and what I found said anywhere between 17,500 and 40,000 words.  I’m aiming for 30,000 (seemed like a good number, not too short, not too long), but it’s awesome to know I could stop any time and it would be ‘official’.

I have been pleasantly surprised with how easy this project has been.  It’s my first ‘modern’ endeavor, and as I’ve mentioned before I struggle terribly with that.  But I just forced myself this time, and found that once you get into the story, writing modern is really ridiculously easy.  I may just start writing contemporary stuff for awhile, because it’s easy to get out there and it’s what a lot of people want to read right now.  Win-win.  AND, it’s a good exercise for me.

Also, it might get my foot in the door in the ‘real’ publishing industry.  I love self-publishing and will probably largely stick with it either way, but I’m not going to say no if a publishing company happens to want to publish something from this little contemporary detour I’m taking.

I will be uploading the cover for my novella here soon.  In the meantime…time to go to work in the real world.

Leave a Reply

