Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

A Novella Detour

Leave a comment

After some thought, I’ve decided that I’d rather not try to cram writing a novel into a month that is jam-packed with other engagements.  It’s enough of a challenge (and enough of a potential stifling of said novel) to try to cram it into a month to begin with.  So I’ve decided to replace July’s book with a novella project.  I’ve been wanting to write some novellas for some time, just to get some of my lesser-but-still-good ideas out of the way, and it would seem this is the perfect time to do so.

It also feels like a good time (perhaps high time) to write something a little more mainstream, for a change, and see if I can’t get a bigger crowd to find something to identify with in my work.  I was told by the first agent who showed interest in my work, a few years ago, that I ought to try writing something modern, and it would likely help me get my foot in the door.  While I did not doubt it was good advice, I have always struggled to write modern, so for years now I haven’t taken that advice.  It’s always in the back of my mind that I would like to, but every time I try I just can’t.  But finally, I think I’m just going to do it.  I have an idea that I like, so I’m just going to plow through all the modern nonsense whether I like it or not.  I think, given that I’m aiming for this to be a shorter work to begin with, it will be much more bearable to just buckle down and do it.  Knowing that I don’t have to suffer through dredging up a whole novel’s worth of modern nonsense is going to make it a much more doable task.

So disregard the announcement of July’s book, Dangel’s List.  I will still be working on it, as ideas and free moments come, but I’m going to concentrate instead on my very first novella, at long last!  It’s entitled Breathtaker, and it will be the predominant project I update here for the month of July.

Leave a Reply

