Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Completion, publication, and elation!

1 Comment

It is finished!  June’s book, A Mischief in the Woodwork, is complete – and has gone live!  Still working on the paperback, but the e-book is available here: A Mischief in the Woodwork

It went live late two nights ago, only for me to discover (the next morning) that the formatting somehow got messed up when it converted to kindle format.  So I spent all day hastening to re-format in between cleaning house and preparing for a work party we’re having today (we’re building a shed), hoping no one would buy it in the meantime.  It was a crazy day, but I did it.  And not a moment too soon – the updated file processed a bit after midnight, and this morning I had my very first sale listed on my report 🙂  Phew.

And I didn’t even advertise it yet.  Off to a good start!

A Mischief in the Woodwork is one of my darker books.  All I was going for was dystopian, but it was very easy to slip into all the dark things that accompany dark times.  I myself wouldn’t go as far as to call it horror, but it may possess some similar vibes therein.  I do try to incorporate uplifting themes in all my work as well, though, regardless of how deep and dark they might get.  (A review someone left for Mind Games said it was both disturbing and uplifting – I’m not sure how those two can go together, but I am delighted to have achieved it.  That is also coincidentally how I would describe A Mischief in the Woodwork.)

Regardless of dark or light, this has been one of my favorite books to write, hands down.  I loved creating the world, really clicked with the main character, totally got into the atmosphere (I don’t know if a world I’ve created has ever been so clear and vivid in my mind before), and the underlying subject matter is something very dear to my heart.  This is one of those books that just worked for me, start to finish.  Rarely did I suffer from writer’s block, and I don’t know if there was ever a time that I was unhappy with what I had, or didn’t know where I was going.  That never happens.  I am constantly second-guessing my work these days, meeting with writer’s block a portion of the way through, or having to take a breather to figure out where the heck I want to go with a given storyline.

A Mischief in the Woodwork was simply like fulfilling a vision, all the way through.  Just putting down on paper something that, seemingly, was already in me, needing very much to get out.

One thought on “Completion, publication, and elation!

  1. Congrats! I’m sure your hard work will pay off! Good luck with your sales.

Leave a Reply

