Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Editing

1 Comment

Today I started editing A Mischief in the Woodwork.  Mainly just typos, today, and then I’ll tackle the bigger stuff over the course of the rest of the week.  My sister, who is lovely and supportive, has done her usual “here, let me read your manuscript pretty much in one sitting” thing, and has given me her feedback.  (It’s a little disgruntling, spending so long on a manuscript, only to have it devoured in a number of hours by my speed-reading sister.  But encouraging in that she doesn’t get bored and stop reading halfway through.  At least I seem to write page-turning stuff, where one of my readers is concerned!)  Most of her feedback is exactly what I had already written down, so that is also encouraging.  Hopefully that actually is because I have a decent book and have thought of everything, rather than a mere tribute to the fact that she and I share a brain and seem to communicate telepathically.

On a side note, whoever left me that negative review on Amazon that I blogged about has edited their review since I went on my rant.  They left the review at one star, still, but changed the content of the review in a way that oddly seems to coincide with the gripes I had made here about their review.  This could be pure coincidence…  Or it could mean it’s one of my readers (blog readers) that wrote the review.  If that’s the case, and it is one of you…  I’m on to you 😉  In all seriousness, I love you anyway.  But I’m totally on to you.

(Anyway, they at least changed their wording and said what they had to say in a way that I’m totally fine with.  I still don’t approve of people giving books 1 star based on something that is purely a matter of opinion, but hey.)

One thought on “Editing

  1. It was bound to happen. I even know some people who don’t like the Harry potter books… Congratulations for your new book.

Leave a Reply

