Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

Encouraging Rejection

1 Comment

Yesterday, I received one of the nicest rejection letters I’ve ever received before.  Usually, as I’m sure many of you are well aware, they come in the form of a standard-issue letter, which usually just says ‘thank you for giving us the opportunity to consider your work, however after careful consideration we have decided it’s not quite right for us, we wish you the best in your search for representation…’

So I was delighted yesterday when I received one of a different nature.  I had actually forgotten I had anything on submission, it had been so many months now.  But I checked my email, and found another rejection letter had come in.  And this one – this one was actually personalized, and said rather nicely that while my specific title was not the best fit for them, they thought my writing showed promise and they would love to consider future works should I choose to query them again.

Never thought a rejection letter could make my day.  Now all I have to do is carefully browse their past representations and write something that fits right in with the rest.  Voila.

Unfortunately, I hate writing with the intentions of fitting my work into a mold.  I don’t know if I will ever be able to get through a whole book that way, without trashing it just because I absolutely hate it.

One thought on “Encouraging Rejection

  1. Pingback: The Rejection Letter: How Should You React?

Leave a Reply

