Harperpages

The blog of author Harper Alexander

June’s Book

Leave a comment

June 1st.  It’s a new month, and therefore time to write a new book.  This month’s project is my dystopian novel A Mischief in the Woodwork.  I’m cheating a little bit this month, as A Mischief in the Woodwork is already 80,000 words long at this point.  A little bit of a head start, right?  Since I aim to write a 50,000 word book each month, from start to finish, it’s a bit like being finished (OVERLY finished) before I even start.  Except for the part where I still have about 40,000 words to go, if my estimate is correct, because this just so happens to be one of those books that would be completely stifled if I kept it anywhere around the 50,000 mark.  Even at 80,000, it is yet quite deprived of its due development.

So really it’s like having a 10,000 word head start.  Still a nice little head start, but I can’t help but feel as though starting off the month with 300 pages is going to create the problematic, ongoing illusion that I just don’t need to push myself at all.  It’s going to be quite a smack in the face if June comes to an end, and it turns out I didn’t manage to finish the book that I had a 300-page head start on.

Fail.

So I figured I’ll invest in one of those snazzy progress bars to display on my blog, so I can keep a realistic perspective.  And just because I’ve been dying to use one.  So I’m off to activate it!

And then hopefully off to get some writing done.  But there are flowers to be watered, and swimming to be done, so we’ll see if I get around to it or if this day turns into more of a summer vacation.  After all, I wrote an extra 1,000 words last night, before the month even started.  So I’m good, right?

 

Leave a Reply

